Its Artichoke Time!

I never ate a full artichoke until Rachel introduced me to them. Her aunt lives down in artichoke country and I remember driving through once and seeing signs for buying a dozen artichokes for a few dollars or something ridiculous like that. Well, we’re just lucky to still be close enough to get some lovely arties up here too. Our neighbor has some beauties growing in his yard and Rachel is bound to plant some soon.

We tend to steam these guys in a large pot with about an inch of water. I used to just snip the sharp ends and then place them upside down in the pot, but recently switched to snipping the outside leaves, then cutting off the top third or so and placing them stem side down in the pot. They seem to cook up a little faster and fuller this way. About 35-50 minutes seems about right to cook these guys until you can easily pull off the leaves.

Adelaide is a big fan now and we started giving her an entire artichoke of her own now that she got the hang of eating them. Of course now when she spots them in the store, she usually tries to grab some to throw in the basket.

Our favorite sauce for dipping is this tarragon mayonnaise, which can be made ahead of time and chilled.

Mix:

  • One egg yolk
  • a dab of mustard
  • tarragon vinegar (I used balsamic in the past, which can be tasty too)
  • Stir all that up with a pinch of salt then slowly pour in some olive oil while stirring to make a nice thick mayonnaise and crack some pepper on top
3 Comments on “Its Artichoke Time!”

  1. Mary says:

    How fancy are you with your food blog! Looks yummy, thanks for telling your little sister about it!

    • Jon Austin says:

      Okay, I didn’t tell anyone about this. I blame Rachel. Like I would ever bother telling anyone what I was up to. In Rachel’s defense though, she saw your comment and said she couldn’t find your e-mail address earlier.

  2. Debi says:

    Wait a minute! I’m that aunt you’re talking about! Okay, my favorite is to ride my bike out to Castroville (artichoke capital of the world), and load up artichokes in my saddlebags. I remember sending them to Steven a few times.


Leave a Reply

